Auckland Libraries: Poetry by Lilburn and Beethoven

Heritage concert: Poetry by Lilburn and Beethoven

Thursday 18 April 12pm to 1pm Free

We are delighted to welcome Ensemble East for the first of our Thursday Heritage Concerts - Autumn series 2019.

Black and white photo of musician Yid-Ee Goh and Lisa Chou

Ensemble East (Yid-Ee Goh, violin and Lisa Chou, piano) launch our Autumn series with a salutation to seven New Zealand poets composed by the father of New Zealand music, Douglas Lilburn.

NZ poet Allan Curnow requested this work from Lilburn in 1952 for a poetry reading at Auckland University College.

Here Lilburn translates into music the sentiments of these seven NZ poets, each expressing the pioneering experiences of European settlers in the colony.

To follow, Ensemble East perform Beethoven's violin sonata Op. 30 no.1. This is the most serene of the three violin sonatas that he wrote during this time in the beautiful environs of Heilingenstadt in the Vienna woods.

About Heritage Concerts

We invite you to join us for a year of breath-taking performances - a special series of concerts where together with the musicians we uncover the enduring power behind the music held in the library’s collections. 

Join us for a season of discovery, FREE in the centre of Auckland, a UNESCO  City of Music.

When: Fortnightly from Thursday 18 April to Thursday 7 November, 12noon - 1pm.

Where: Whare Wānanga, Level 2 Central City Library, Lorne St, Auckland.

Auckland UNESCO City of Music logo

Black and white photo of musician Yid-Ee Goh and Lisa Chou


Other events at Central City Library

Auckland Libraries:Event