Auckland Libraries: Pasifika specialists

Pasifika specialists

Ngā mātanga Pasifika

We have Pasifika specialists with diverse interests. Find out more about our Pasifika community librarians, collections specialists and leadership, where they are based and how they can support you.


Community libraries


Atonia Vavao

Lalomanu and Malie, Samoa

ProfileImage

Senior Librarian and Council Service Assistant Pasifika

Email: Email address: nia.vavao1@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Henderson-Massey Local Board

Languages spoken: Samoan

“E a le puga nisi, a le 'ana nisi.” – Let each do his share of the work.


Irene Tufuga

Houma Tongatapu, Vailoa Aleipata

ProfileImage

Librarian Pasifika

Email: Email address: irene.tufuga@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board

Languages spoken: Tongan – Fluent, Samoan - Fluent

Samoan proverb – "O le ala i le pule o le tautua" – The way to authority is through service.
Tongan proverb – "Oua lau e kafo kae lau e lava" - Stay positive and count your blessings.


Mary Sefilino-Wulf

Togafuafua, Safotu, Leauvaa

ProfileImage

Senior Library and Council Service Assistant Pasifika

Email: Email address: mary.sefilino@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Manurewa Local Board

Languages spoken: Samoan – Fluent

"O fanau a manu e fafaga I fugalaau, ae o fanau a tagata e fafaga I upu." – The offspring of birds are fed with flower nectar, but the children of men are nurtured with words.


Michaela Meredith

Luatuanu’u and Solosolo

ProfileImage

Senior Librarian and Council Service Assistant Pasifika

Email: Email address: michaela.meredith@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Whau Local Board

Languages spoken: English and Samoan – Fluent

“A logo tai ua logo uta.” – When it is felt toward the sea, it is felt toward the land.


Nia Motufoua

Nakolo & Vaini, Tongatapu

ProfileImage

Senior Library Assistant Pasifika

Email: Email address: nia.motufoua@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board

Languages spoken: Tongan - Fluent

“Oua lau e kafo, kae lau e lava.” – Count not the injuries, but look forward to the victory.


Sia Siakisini

Puipa’a, Samoa & Fakaofo, Tokelau

ProfileImage

Librarian Pasifika

Email: Email address: sia.siakisini@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Papakura Local Board

Languages spoken: Samoan - Fluent, Tokelauan - Beginner

“Totō hau tōkiga nei, auā na tupulaga e fāi mai.” – Plant a seed today, for our future generations.


Sepa Puleoti

Vailoa, Alofi North, Niue Island

ProfileImage

Senior Library Assistant Pasifika

Email: Email address: sepa.puleoti@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Waitematā Local Board

Languages spoken: Niuean - Fluent

“Fuhi ulu auloa” – the act of braiding hair together to mean working together.

Patricia Sakalia

Lelepa, Safotu Savai’i

ProfileImage

Senior Library and Council Service Assistant Pasifika

Email: Email address: Patricia.Sakalia@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Manurewa Local Board

Languages spoken: Samoan Fluent




​Heritage, Research, and Pacific collections


Pamata Toleafoa

Salelesi & Satapuala, Upolu Samoa

ProfileImage

Senior Librarian Pasifika Research

Email: Email address: Pamata.Toleafoa@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Research South

Languages spoken: Samoan - Fluent

“O le tele o sulu e maua ai figota.” – Through collaboration we will overcome the most difficult challenges - My strength does not come from me alone but from many.


Daren Kamali

Vasu, Ovalau Levuka; Susu i Samabula North, Suva, Fiji

ProfileImage

Pacific Heritage Advisor

Email: Email address: daren.kamali@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Waitematā Local Board

Languages spoken: Fijian - Bauan Dialect, Basic Pacific Languages

“Na nodrau i vakavuvuli nai tubutubu ena vakaraitaki ga ena nodra bula kei na nodrai tovo na luvedra.” – Children's behaviour and discipline will always reflect the teachings of parents at home; The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.



Melissa Manapori

Tautu, Aitutaki (Cook Islands)

ProfileImage

Senior Librarian Pacific Collections

Email: Email address: melissa.manapori@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Waitematā Local Board

Languages spoken: Cook Island Māori – Beginner


Veronica Ligaliga

Vailima, Apia, Samoa

ProfileImage

Senior Librarian Pacific Content

Email: Email address: veronica.ligaliga@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Waitematā Local Board

Languages spoken: Samoan - Fluent

“E lele le toloa ae ma’au lava i le vai.” – A toloa bird will take flight but will always return to the water.



​Pasifika Success Unit


Elenoa Mo’a Sili-Mati

Fasito’otai and Vailu’utai, Samoa

ProfileImage

Manager Pasifika Success

Email: Email address: elenoa.moasili-mati@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Regionwide

Languages spoken: Sāmoan - Advanced

“O le ala i le pule o le tautua.” – The pathway to leadership is through service.


Leota Alice Meredith

Eva (Upolu), Vaimoso

ProfileImage

Pasifika Service Design Specialist

Email: Email address: alice.meredith@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Regionwide

Languages spoken: Samoan - Fluent

“E le sua se lolo i se popo e tasi.” – It takes more than one coconut to produce a substantial amount of oil.


Liam Koka'ua

Cook Islands

ProfileImage

Senior Pasifika Specialist

Email: Email address: liam.kokaua@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Regionwide

Languages spoken: Cook Islands Māori - Proficient, Te reo Māori - Conversant

“Kai i te 'uāvare o te pakari.” – Eat the saliva of the elders. (Take heed of their words.)



Mack Leala

Samoa

ProfileImage

Senior Pasifika Specialist

Email: Mack.Leala@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Location: Regionwide

Languages spoken: Samoan - Fluent



Auckland Libraries:Pasifika specialists See a list of Pasifika specialists who can assist you with your research, speak to you about community events and what Auckland Libraries has to offer.