Auckland Libraries: Kids nonfiction new titles

Kids nonfiction new titles

Ngā Taitara pono tamariki hōu

Have a flick through our fascinating collection of new nonfiction books for kids. This list updates when we add new titles to our collection.

The topic Kids has been added to your favourites.

The topic Kids has been removed from your favourites.

The topic Kids will be added to your favourites. What does this mean?

True
Karl's new beak  by Lela Nargi

Karl's new beak

Lela Nargi

Karl is an Abyssinian ground hornbill with a special challenge. His lower bill had broken off and made eating difficult. Karl did a great job of adapting and finding new ways to eat, but he wasn't getting all the food he needed. His zookeepers at the...

See more
Light  by Carolyn Bernhardt

Light

Carolyn Bernhardt

"Simple text and full-color photography introduce beginning readers to light. Developed by literacy experts for students in kindergarten through third grade"--

See more
Giraffes  by Kaitlyn Duling

Giraffes

Kaitlyn Duling

"Relevant images match informative text in this introduction to giraffes. Intended for students in kindergarten through third grade"--

See more
Beavers  by Rachel A. Koestler-Grack

Beavers

Rachel A. Koestler-Grack

"Relevant images match informative text in this introduction to beavers. Intended for students in kindergarten through third grade"--

See more
Goddesses and heroines  by Xanthe Gresham

Goddesses and heroines

Xanthe Gresham

Book

Told afresh for a contemporary readership, Goddesses & Heroines brings alive stories from a variety of cultures with palpable energy. We meet the youthful Aphrodite; Hecate, the maths whizz; the heroic Mulan; Oshun, the Nigerian goddess whose foresight...

See more
The mouse and the ant  by Lisala Halapua

The mouse and the ant

Lisala Halapua

Book

Mouse is tricked out of eating a banana by some ants.

See more
Happy, healthy minds

Happy, healthy minds

Book

Our minds are beautifully complicated and brilliant machines. For much of our lives, these machines run efficiently with minimal maintenance. However, just like our other organs, they do require some proper attention every now and then. Recognizing this...

See more
Armored dinosaurs  by Giuseppe Brillante

Armored dinosaurs

Giuseppe Brillante

Book

Armored dinosaurs were four-legged tanks. To defend themselves against giant and fearsome carnivores, they evolved to have scaly body armor, club-like tails, horns, bony plates, and large spikes. Learn about this and more as your experience what the ...

See more
Women in art  by Rachel Ignotofsky

Women in art

Rachel Ignotofsky

Book

Illustrated profiles of 50 pioneering female artists -- from the 11th century to today -- from the author of the New York Times bestseller Women in Science.

See more
Incredible predators  by Giuseppe Brillante

Incredible predators

Giuseppe Brillante

Book

Dinosaurs dominated our planet for 165 million years. They were incredible animals, often gigantic and strong. Here you can learn about the most terrifying of them all: the carnivores. Find out where they lived, what they ate, and how they survived in...

See more
Aquatic reptiles of the dinosaur age  by Giuseppe Brillante

Aquatic reptiles of the dinosaur age

Giuseppe Brillante

Book

The plesiosaurus had a long, slender neck that it used to sneak up on prey. The ichthyosaurus was a strange cross between a dolphin and a crocodile. Learn about these amazing creatures as you experience what the dinosaur age was like from the bottom on...

See more
Herbivorous dinosaurs  by Giuseppe Brillante

Herbivorous dinosaurs

Giuseppe Brillante

Book

The stegosaurus, with its bony plates and spiky tail, was capable of taking down larger and more aggressive predators, such as the giant sauropod. The sauropods had long necks and tails, but tiny heads, they were the largest animals to have every lived...

See more
Dark Hedges, Wizard Island and other magical places that really exist  by L. Rader Crandall

Dark Hedges, Wizard Island and other magical places that really exist

L. Rader Crandall

Book

Looking at places like The Skeleton Coast in Namibia, Wizard Island in the United States, and The Fairy Tale Route in Germany, The Dark Hedges and Other Magical Places that Really Exist takes young readers on a journey around the world to real places...

See more
别人家的孩子, 长大都在做什么. by author Zhong ke yuan SELF ge zhi lun dao jiang tan

别人家的孩子, 长大都在做什么.

author Zhong ke yuan SELF ge zhi lun...

Book

See more
别人家的孩子, 长大都在做什么. by author Zhong ke yuan SELF ge zhi lun dao jiang tan

别人家的孩子, 长大都在做什么.

author Zhong ke yuan SELF ge zhi lun...

Book

See more
写给孩子的趣味天文学 = Entertaining astronomy  by I︠A︡. I. (I︠A︡kov Isidorovich) Perelʹman

写给孩子的趣味天文学 = Entertaining astronomy

I︠A︡. I. (I︠A︡kov Isidorovich) Pere...

Book

See more
写给孩子的趣味几何学 = Entertaining geometry  by I︠A︡. I. (I︠A︡kov Isidorovich) Perelʹman

写给孩子的趣味几何学 = Entertaining geometry

I︠A︡. I. (I︠A︡kov Isidorovich) Pere...

Book

See more
写给孩子的趣味代数学 = Entertaining algebra  by I︠A︡. I. (I︠A︡kov Isidorovich) Perelʹman

写给孩子的趣味代数学 = Entertaining algebra

I︠A︡. I. (I︠A︡kov Isidorovich) Pere...

Book

See more
写给孩子的趣味物理学 = Entertaining physics  by I︠A︡. I. (I︠A︡kov Isidorovich) Perelʹman

写给孩子的趣味物理学 = Entertaining physics

I︠A︡. I. (I︠A︡kov Isidorovich) Pere...

Book

See more
写给孩子的趣味力学 = Entertaining mechanics  by I︠A︡. I. (I︠A︡kov Isidorovich) Perelʹman

写给孩子的趣味力学 = Entertaining mechanics

I︠A︡. I. (I︠A︡kov Isidorovich) Pere...

Book

See more
美食天地  by editor Yang mei yang guang

美食天地

editor Yang mei yang guang

Book

See more
海洋动物  by editor Yang mei yang guang

海洋动物

editor Yang mei yang guang

Book

See more
星星世界  by editor Yang mei yang guang

星星世界

editor Yang mei yang guang

Book

See more
虫虫家族  by editor Yang mei yang guang

虫虫家族

editor Yang mei yang guang

Book

See more
奧運  by 陳又凌

奧運

陳又凌

Book

See more
我家能源從哪兒來?  by Christine Butterworth

我家能源從哪兒來?

Christine Butterworth

Book

See more
我的衣服從哪兒來?  by Christine Butterworth

我的衣服從哪兒來?

Christine Butterworth

Book

See more
Not playing by the rules  by Lesa Cline-Ransome

Not playing by the rules

Lesa Cline-Ransome

Book

This powerful and inspiring collection features 21 female trailblazers in their sport, perfect for fans of Women in Sports and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls! Before girls wore pants or women were permitted to swim in bathing suits at public beaches,...

See more
Where is Claris  by Megan (Fashion illustrator) Hess

Where is Claris

Megan (Fashion illustrator) Hess

Graphic novel

"Claris, the chicest mouse in Paris, is setting off on an exciting adventure through the city of lights! Can you find Claris and her friends in fabulous Parisian places such as the patisserie, the florist and the carousel? Look inside to find out!"--...

See more
Adventures in engineering for kids  by Brett Schilke

Adventures in engineering for kids

Brett Schilke

Book

Adventures in Engineering for Kids teaches creative problem solving, design thinking, and multiple facets of engineering to expands kids' understanding of the world today and the possible worlds of the future.

See more
Lifting as we climb  by Evette Dionne

Lifting as we climb

Evette Dionne

Book

For African American women, the fight for the right to vote was only one battle. An eye-opening book that tells the important, overlooked story of black women as a force in the suffrage movement--when fellow suffragists did not accept them as equal partners...

See more
Auckland Libraries:New titles Check out the latest new titles in fiction, nonfiction, DVDs, CDs, eBooks, audiobooks, Māori, and community language books.